We hope that you will visit Casa Carolina del Sur. We’re sure when you do, that you will not want to leave!

Here are some folks that loved their stay.

This is our 9th visit to San Miguel, enjoying a home rental each time (5 times on Aldama) and we are enchanted with Casa Carolina del Sur. Wonderful attention to architecture and furnishings. And Berta is a joy as our “hostess.” And the location is the best. Thank you for creating and loaning this charming casa in wonderful San Miguel de Allende.
— Steve and Carole H. Santa Barbara, CA January 2016
Where to begin? These 3 weeks have been the best. The house – perfect; The location - perfect; Francisco – perfect; Berta – more than perfect! No words can describe Berta. She is the “heart” of this home. She keeps the house running better than we have ever experienced, and adds the warmth and charm of a special friend. We will miss her smile, kindness, attention to detail, and breakfast. We have rented other houses here over the years, but this one is the best! We will return. Once we stepped in the door, we had our own private retreat. Thank you.
— Diana & Stewart S. San Pedro, CA Oct 2014
Casa Carolina del Sur is the perfect complement to San Miguel. The owners have paid exquisite attention to every detail for comfort, pleasure and enjoyment. Now, if we could just stay here forever!
— Bea & Gary D. Columbia, South Carolina April 2015
We have had the most incredible experience exploring this beautiful city. Thank you for your hospitality and for sharing a place that has been so close to your hearts. The streets, food, shops and people are absolutely incredible. We hope to return to San Miguel in the future. Also, Berta is the best. Can we take her home with us?
— Natalie S. & Molly M. Charleston, SC August 2015
Great time seeing everything and enjoying Independence Day; Beautiful city …wonderful hosts ….wonderful margaritas. VIVA Mexico!
— Wanda & Marc B. Eliot, ME Sept 2014
A perfect stay in a perfect casa with a perfect hostess. Having been to San Miguel many times, we are sort of old hands as to what to anticipate, however, we were enchanted anew by your lovely home. Walking out the door into the heart of San Miguel is a veritable treat and one we never tired of. Just wanted to end by thanking for sharing this wonderful home and Berta with us. All the best wishes in 2016.
— Joanne R. Santa Barbara, CA January 2016
A respite from the hectic world we all live in. Thank you for providing it.
— Brian R. Santa Barbara, CA January 2016
We can’t even express how beautiful this place is. From your wonderful home to the amazing food, to the spectacular views …It’s just amazing!! We hope we will get to visit again one day. Thank you!
— Sheryl, Charlie and Issac H. Brevard, NC August 2015
Our first trip to San Miguel has been nothing but spectacular. Berta was absolutely amazing and so very helpful. This house is amazing and I will never forget the surprise when we first entered. Our trip from Oregon has been wonderful. Thank you so much.
— Sharon K. and Mark H. Oregon Dec 2014
Muchas Gracias for an unbelievable experience. We had a wonderful time – love your home, Berta, the town, the whole feeling in San Miguel – and the respite from a miserable winter week in NYC.
— Carol S. New York City, NY Jan 2014
We so enjoyed our stay at Casa Carolina and San Miguel. What a beautiful place and wonderfully welcoming people. Berta makes Casa Carolina truly a HOME! Her cooking, cleaning and wonderful personality are such a joy. We look forward to our next visit to San Miguel de Allende.
— Christine & Jim Portland, OR Dec 2013
What a beautiful casa you have. My fella, Brad, enjoyed the views of San Miguel from the rooftop and liked getting to see lots of birds from the roof too ..like inca doves, great kisakadees, ravens, violet crowned hummingbirds, broad billed woodpeckers, white winged doves, sayings phoebe, hooded orioles and canyon wrens.
— Allison and Brad Dallas, TX Dec 2013
All of the extras were very much appreciated. Berta is outstanding. She taught us some new recipes and was always there to help. Thank you for a wonderful vacation.
— Gayle C. Oct 2013
Over the top is all I can say. The best vacation ever and I have taken many as a flight attendant for 36 years! Berta is unbelievable. If I could clone her, I would. She is wonderful. I am recommending your home to everyone.
— Pam M. Palm Beach Shores, FL July 2013
We have enjoyed every day of our two weeks at Casa Carolina! Berta has been so precious and attentive to our every need. We loved our opportunity to see all 3 of her girls this visit. The special lunches she made were delicious. Relaxation has been the watchword here in the casa! You have anticipated all the amenities a guest could possible desire! Thank you so much for the glorious visit we had enjoying our children in the BEST house in SMA.
— Mary & Tom F. Charleston, SC June 2013
Our 13th anniversary and it has been something special. We were married on the 13th so this is what most people consider their 50th. We have packed so much into our lives together. This trip has been “magical” by every measure. Berta has been here to ensure we relaxed and had great food, clean clothes and were also taken care of “spiritually” as she is our friend.
— Kerri & Andrew Seattle, WA April 2013
It has been a busy 2 weeks with Semana Santa, great weather and a lovely house. Berta couldn’t have been more helpful and gracious. We’re looking forward to returning next year.
— Tom & Joy R. Boston, MA March 2013
We had a lovely time at your house. Berta is one of a kind. Thank you!
— Joshua, Lee and Alex Michigan December 2012
We had a wonderful stay. Berta was very helpful and accommodating. We all fell in love with her and her food. We hope to return soon. Congratulations on such an amazing house and for finding a gem like Berta!
— Pardo Family Mexico City and Austin, TX September 2012
Amazing! Best bathtub ever downstairs! One of the most relaxing places to vacation and by far the best house I’ve stayed in in San Miguel. Also, Berta’s cooking is unsurpassed. Thanks!
— Megan J. Maryland August 2012
Three weeks of pure bliss in Casa Carolina del Sur has flown by. We would change nothing but to stay on. Berta tended our tummies and every need with her usual grace and aplomb. Her precious family added memories for our grand children . We are quite spoiled as we return to “real life.”

Sitting on the rooftop was lovely as we enjoyed the night coolness and lit Parroquia in the evenings. Your casa is a feast for your eyes every visit, and we are ever fascinated with all the perfect planning that went into your home.

Thank you so much for the stay in our favorite place.
— Mary and Tom F. Awendaw, SC July 2012
Me siento como una reina en esta casa. Gracias a mi amiga, Claire, por invitarme, los dueños por mantener una casa tan linda, Francisco por los jardines. Lo mas grande gracias a Berta. Me senti TAN especial con ella. Cuidarme! Besos Berta!
— Madeleinie Boston, MA Feb 2012
We love this house! Francisco made the gardens look beautiful and Berta is an excellent cook and very kind. The house is very clean. We had a wonderful experience here; love the town. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful ….Bells, birds, flowers ….
— Marg & Dennis Pennsylvania Feb 2012
Jeremy & Norell’s lovely wedding! We loved staying at Casa Carolina!
— Ned & Laura Nov 2011
Casa Carolina del Sur helped make our stay enjoyable. You have thought out the design, etc. to make ones stay easy. San Miguel is the best. Thanks for letting us use the house. Berta is great also ..keep her.
— Cheers from USA! Brenda & Kenny Oct 2011
This past week has been one of the most memorable in our lives. When we took a risk last September and knocked on your front door, little did we dream that it would bring a treasured friendship and many opportunities. Casa Carolina del Sur is a piece of heaven in San Miguel. It is a feast for our eyes and Berta’s cooking is a feast for our tummies. You have been so generous and so gracious to us this week. We’ve seen SMA through your eyes, enjoyed your friends and learned about street vendors. We are so enthralled with this delightful experience. We love you both and Berta, too!
— Tom & Mary F. Charleston, SC September 2011
Where to begin! The house is so beautiful, charming and lovely …the flowers and landscaping are incredible. And , oh how we love Berta! What a love . . . what a dear! We love it all so much we are returning next year. That says it all! God bless you for sharing this (your space) with others. What a blessing to us. With great thanks!
— Claudia & Rich S. Memphis, TX February 2011
This was an incredible experience of my life. San Miguel is an amazing place. It is in my heart forever. Great memories! Gracias!
— Janet S. California/Toronto November 2010
Berta is Incredible! Lindisima! We loved the house!! Will return!
— Patricia G. July 2010
What a fabulous home – beautiful – great location. Berta was helpful, happy and cooked a great lunch!
— The Cummings August 2010 San Antonio, TX
Our ten days at Casa Carolina del Sur exceeded our expectations. The physical amenities were more than adequate. The Mexican folklore aesthetics were superb. One of us was a painter who flourished in the courtyard and roof patio. Berta, of course, was the “Star of the Show.” Her kindness and attention to our weeks were extraordinary. We look forward to returning.
— Lew & Merrily G. Kansas City, MO Kordis & Jim C. Chicago, IL February 2010
What an amazing vacation we had! Great meals served by Berta! She is such a lovely person, great cook and so very accommodating. We were all here for a beautiful wedding at the cathedral and reception at the Instituto. We will be back!
— Ginger & Mark B. Austin, TX Anne & Mark C. Dallas, TX April 2010
It was our great pleasure to stay here in Carolina del Sur. Berta made our home base truly a home. We hope to return to this wonderful city again soon. Thank you.
— Salli and Scott M. October 2009 Vero Beach, FL Stan D. Pueblo, CO
What a special time we had in San Miguel. All the charm and convenience of Casa Carolina del Sur offered has certainly spoiled us. Berta is definitely an asset – delightful in every way. She made our stay quite comfortable. Wished we could take her home with us! Francisco keeps things looking so beautiful and clean. We will always remember and cherish this special place for the memories it created for us. Thank you for helping to create unforgettable memories. Warm regards.
— Bill L. and Darla L. December 2009 Dallas, TX
We have been to San Miguel several times. Staying in Casa Carolina del Sur was a special treat for our family. We loved spending time on the terraces and patios. Berta was a wonderful cook for our family and friends and a great help when we needed advice on shopping. Thank you for making our vacation so comfortable.
— Jenifer & Brett H. June 2009 Miami, FL
This is our 3rd summer in SMA and this is the best house and best location by far. We enjoyed the beauty of the house, the location and the artwork, especially in the 1st floor bedroom. Thanks!
— Wes C. July 2009 El Paso, TX
Thank you, dear friends, for sharing your San Miguel nest with us over the last week. What fun we had our 3rd time back … shopping til we dropped, binging on scrumptious food, basking in the warmth of your hospitality and ending with the exhilarating 4-wheeler trek through the hills ..whoa!!! Love Berta and her gracious presence and yummy culinary offerings!!! Now you must come to Folly Beach and let us entertain you!! Muchas Gracias! Much Love!
— Toni & Nelson F. Columbia, SC April 2011
Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us. Berta was wonderful and so accommodating. Her mole, salsas, rice, beans, and soups were delicious. We couldn’t be happier unless we could just stay longer. We will be back!
— Dyan and Adele August 2010 Texas
What a wonderful experience this has been. Thank you for sharing your gorgeous home, especially for sharing Berta! She truly made my month in SMA perfect. Not only did she cook super meals, she also helped me with my Spanish, helped me find whatever I was looking for (even to the point of calling the taxi for me and telling him where I wanted to go) and anticipated my every need. I will certainly miss her and Casa Carolina del Sur! I hope to return very soon. Thank you!
— Catherine J. Barbados November 2010
This was our 4th trip to SM and Casa Carolina del Sur is our favorite by far. We immediately felt welcomed and comfortable and the house is beautifully decorated and appointed. Berta was an unexpected “treasure.” She prepared some delicious meals and took such good care of us. We learned some Spanish from her and she picked up some English from us. What a delightful exchange. She made our stay so comfortable. This is a great location. Some of the décor inspired us to search out some similar things to take home with us.
— Cam, Lois and Pat November 2009 Wisconsin
The house, the location, the food and Berta . . . .it was just an amazing visit. San Miguel is one of our favorite cities to visit and relax in. Gracias.
— Dyann and Adele January 2010 Houston, TX
We have so enjoyed our two weeks in San Miguel and Casa Carolina. The house is beautiful and comfortable, but the star is Berta, who is so kind, accommodating and efficient. She made our stay very special. She is a marvelous cook. Although we didn’t see much of Francisco, his plants and plantings are a delight to look at. We will return!
— Gary & Jane New York City Jan 2014
It is all you said and MORE! Berta is fantastic and the cobblestones weren’t too bad. Berta’s food and the restaurants kept me well fed. The views and your decorating kept my eyes “sore.” I can’t say enough.
— Gretchen & Frank Brevard, NC Dec 2013
Boy, oh boy, do the lights ever shine bright in San Miguel! First trip here and I am in love. Thank you for sharing your casa with us. Immaculately clean and so many special touches reflect the beauty of the region. I would consider Berta to be almost irreplaceable! Until we return …
— Susan and Dean H. Dallas, TX Nov 2013
What a wonderful week. The casa is bonita and Berta is the best. I’d like to take her home with me.
— Jane L. Laguna Beach, CA Oct 2013
It is rare for me to not be anxious to go home from a vacation. This is an exception. The place is exceptional and Berta is beyond words. The whole experience was excellent. Thank you!
— Jo N. Oct 2013
I can’t tell you what a fabulous week I have had at your home. It is a wonderful casa – I love what you have done with it! Thank you for allowing us to rent it. I hope to come back soon! Gracias!
— Nicole N. Sumter, SC June 2013
Hola! What a beautiful home and most gracious housekeeper, Berta, and gardener, Francisco. Gracias a todas! The meals were incredible. I hope to return next year.
— Mac & John Atlanta, GA June 2013
This place is magical! We will be returning as soon as possible. Berta is absolutely wonderful and made our stay even more amazing. Thank you for offering us your house to stay in. Everything is absolutely amazing. Gracias Berta!
— The Alvarez Family April 2013
Casa Carolina, with Berta at the helm, is better than any posada in San Miguel – possibly the world. Thank you!
— Terri Z. Putney, VT
Thanks again for sharing your fabulous SMA home with us. We had a most wonderful time, as usual. Berta’s cooking is always a special part of the stay. You are lucky to have such gracious help! A highlight of this trip was horseback riding at Rancho de la Capilla. So much fun! Thanks!
— Robin J. Darlington, SC August 2012
Being at Casa Carolina with Berta and everyone was a wonderful way to end the summer. I had so much fun. Thank you so much for your hospitality.
— Ginger M. Bamberg, SC August 2012
We had a wonderful time in San Miguel. Your house is so lovely and comfortable. Berta is truly a treasure. Staying here with friends and enjoying so much of the local fare – seeing so many beautiful sights and enjoying so many native treats!

Thank you for a wonderful trip.
— Susan & Jim B. Columbia, SC July 2012
What a joy to stay in San Miguel at this beautiful, welcoming home. We had a delightful month here and plan to come again. Berta has been over and above anything one could imagine. She runs every aspect of the home with a cheerful grace. And what a talented cook she is! Our whole crew is delighted, even if we are whining about the weight we have gained. God bless you!
— Sam & Ellen Jan 2012
Maravilloso! Mil gracias
— Caitlin & Nelson Atlanta Dec 2011
What a charming and interesting town to spend a week in. We loved the house and the people are very friendly. Berta is a true gem – what delicious breakfasts she served and her guacamole is outstanding. We hope we can return sometime. Thank you for your hospitality.
— Barbara & Gary Clarkston, MI Hilton Head, SC Nov 2011
Our second stay at Casa de Carolina . We were here for our daughter’s wedding. We arrived on Wednesday and were greeted by Berta! We love the city and the home, and of course, we LOVE Berta! When you are here be sure to have the chillaquilles for breakfast. Amazing! There is not a better place to stay than Casa Carolina and no one better than Berta!
— Joe & Debbie Dallas, TX Nov 2011
Berta makes this house a home. What a treasure! Your home is magnificent. You have done a wonderful job blending modern conveniences with the charm of colonial Mexico. I hope to come again.
— Dell E. Arlington, TX August 2011

The first visit for 3 and one long-timer here in SMA. Very charming casa was made wonderful by Berta! She is very hard working and very talented in the kitchen. We can’t wait to come back.

Susan & Darrel D.

Loved our stay …Loved Berta! One of the best memories I will have in my life. Berta was wonderful!
— Pat June 2011
A great house and wonderful art. Berta is a real gem. She made our stay very special! Her tamales are the best.
— Marybeth F. Sun Valley, Idaho May 2011
Una casa cálida, mágica y con buena vibración. Que mejor lugar para hospedarse en la boda de nuestra hija. Mención aparte para Berta, el alma de esta casa, con grán disposición, servicio y una grán calidéz.

Gracias por Todo!
— Juan Manurl y Martha R. Monterrey, Nuevo León April 2011
Cómo nos gustó San Miguel de Allende y la Casa Carolina del Sur. La última vez que estuvimos fué hace 36 años!

La semana aquí pasó demasiado rápido!

Berta fué una grán ayuda para nosotros, muchas gracias a ella. Ojalá que regresemos un día, es un lugar muy especial!
— Virginia & Patrick P Washington DC March 2011
How could you not fall in love with the beauty of this lovely, colorful house with all the outdoor spaces? Berta was the hostess and caregiver for us all. What fun we had with her trying to speak Spanish. She is a patient teacher. You’re blessed to have her.
— Jerry & Joan J. Germantown, TN January 2011
We had an amazing time here. Berta was so good to us that we hate to leave. Also, our 4 year old fell in love with Berta’s daughter who babysat for us. We love the house and hope to be back soon.
— Don & Lynn F. New Braunfels, TX Mitch & Brooke L. Austin, TX January 2011
What a lovely way to experience San Miguel – from Casa Carolina del Sur. The house is wonderful, and Berta is even more. We had a great time and hope to be back soon.
— The Martin Sisters August 2010 Texas and Arkansas
We had a tremendous time in San Miguel – we were here (our second time) for a wedding. Fabulously fun days. My son did the Coyote Canyon horseback riding and repelling and had a terrific time. We spent lovely hours at La Gruta (great food and service) and shopped/played around town. Weather was great! Berta is wonderful and a terrific cook. We enjoyed every minute – great times on the upper patio – especially lovely.
— Dan C. August 2010
Our favorite in San Miguel was having “la comida” on the patio. Berta helped us to make wonderful meals. Eating at home was such as treat as the best of produce is readily available. Ideal location, well appointed house and the very gracious Berta. Muchas Gracias!
— Beverly & Doug V. Toronto February 2010
Everything is great at Casa Carolina del Sur. All needs taken care of – we were really impressed with Berta, her cooking, and care of everyone. We’d love to come back to your house and San Miguel. Muchas Gracias!
— The Conway Group Miami, FL Pam Australia April 2010
We came for my birthday week and could not have chosen a better place to stay. Casa Carolina del Sur is a beautiful, well-appointed home away from home. The icing on the cake was Berta. She made us feel welcome, took care of our every need, always had a smile on her face and, thanks to her wonderful cooking, we ate more meals at home than we imagined. She and Francisco do a wonderful job of keeping the house clean and well groomed. We loved staying here!
— Carol, Yolanda, Judy & Melaney December 2009 Houston, tX
We so enjoyed our stay at Casa Carolina del Sur. The location is perfect – so close to the Jardin, but still quiet! You have done a lovely renovation. The house is beautiful and very well equipped. And Berta is a jewel – she attended to our every comfort.
— May 2009 Merrily and John D. Atlanta, GA
The house is beautifully appointed and very comfortable with all of the modern conveniences. We enjoyed the kitchen/patio area the most. Berta is a great cook and we actually preferred her home cooked food to going out. She made our trip that much better! Thanks for everything.
— Paul & Cheryl B. August 2009 Georgetown, TX
We have all loved being here in this charming, wonderful house! Every day has been a golden one. Berta and Francisco have been great to us and we love all the sitting areas. Thank you, thank you, thank you! We will be back next year.
— Carrie, Don & Friends Texas March 2011
I am so sad to leave this beautiful, charming house and the absolutely special Berta! She has made our stay so very memorable, and I hope to come back to Casa Carolina del Sur next summer, if not sooner. Gracias, Berta!
— Maureen W. July 2010 Houston, TX
It was a pleasure and a privilege to stay at your home. We, my son and I, enjoyed the view from the roof and patios. Sra. Berta went above and beyond our expectations and needs. San Miguel is a great city to visit, but staying at Casa Carolina del Sur made the trip even more enjoyable. We would love to stay here again. Muchas Gracias! Viva Berta!
— Melanie & Andrew August 2010 Texas
I had a wonderful time at Casa Carolina del Sur. Berta looked after me well. I spoke no Spanish and by the end of the week, I spoke quite a bit, thanks to Berta. She cooks very well, too. The house is immaculate and impeccable. I loved it!! Thank you and best wishes always. Francisco was so friendly as well. Well done for getting such great people!
— Sophie November 2009 Canada
I have so many wonderful memories in San Miguel de Allende, but staying at Casa Carolina del Sur has been one of the most special. Your lovely hacienda captures all the charm and magic of this enchanting town. With spectacular views and such a short distance to the Jardin, Casa Carolina makes for a very enjoyable stay. I hope to return many times!
— Robin J. March 2009 Darlington, SC
Of the eleven trips we have made to San Miguel, this was the most enjoyable. The beds were comfortable, the house stayed immaculately clean, and most of all ….Berta. Berta es un tesoro y una de las personas amables que he conocido. We will be back.
— Ned & Linda Highlands, NC December 2015
A very special time and my special place! We had a wonderful week here and hope to come back. Berta is the best! She helped to make this a real vacation. The house is out-of-this world. We have to go home and face the real world ..but hope to return.
— Elaine and Bob D. San Diego, CA December 2015
We came with our friends to San Miguel. This is our first visit. It is so wonderful I cried. Your home is so awesome and comfortable. Berta is AMAZING! We fell in love with her. We plan to come back next year. Blessings to you and your beautiful home.
— Babbitt and James Nov 2014
San Miguel is a beautiful, clean , welcoming , historic city with wonderful sights and sounds. And all that is even better at Casa Carolina del Sur …so relaxing. Wonderful memories made here on our first trip to San Miguel. Billy’s best vacation ..he says he can’t wait to come back. Thanks for the wonderful hospitality.
— Mary and Billy M. Atlanta, GA September 2015
Gary & I just love San Miguel and staying at Casa Carolina. The house is so lovely and comfortable, and no small credit to Berta, who remains the loveliest of housekeepers. A true gem. Thanks for everything.
— Jane and Gary New York City Jan. 2015
This is the third time my husband and I have experienced the joy and wonder of San Miguel. This is the second time we have brought family and the first and glorious time in your beautiful home. Artfully decorated, welcoming and comfortable beyond our expectations …it easily became our home away from home for our week stay. Berta became our friend as well as a lovely woman who anticipated our every need. Her two youngest children had a play date with our youngest. All of us are in total agreement that this has been the trip of a lifetime for us all – and Casa Carolina del Sur made it so. Our thanks!
— Norma & Fred W. Dec 2014
We had a wonderful week at your beautiful Casa. As always, everything was wonderful – comfortable accommodations, delicious food and sweet Berta. Thank you! We can’t wait to come back.
— Alison, Turner and Parker G. Atlanta, GA July 2015
Once again, Berta and Francisco took good care of me. This is my third visit. Breakfast, washing, cleaning – every detail. Berta taught me a natural cure for an injury that really worked! I was a guest of Claire and Joel who stayed for 2 months. They’ve come for many years because they love it here. Me, too!
— Maddy L. Lowell, MA March 2014
I have loved my pilgrimage to San Miguel and all of the festivities of the week’s festivities for Day of the Dead! Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us and the fabulous meals that Berta has prepared. All the light and colors and people are a beautiful change. I especially enjoyed the Coyote Canyon trip to horseback ride and trip to the pyramids. Albert Coffee and Rodrigo were a wealth of knowledge. The food at La Brassiere was fresh and delicious – All a wonderful change from Vermont.
Muchas Gracias!
— Dianne H. Nov 2013
Coming forever and we found a keeper! Brought a designer friend and her husband and they fell in love, too. The house is beautiful and Berta is a gem – capable, warm and so welcoming. The location is great and we enjoyed every aspect of the house. We will be back.
— Carol & George C. West Point, VA Thanksgiving 2014
First opportunity to experience Semana Santa in San Miguel was fantastic. Casa Carolina was the ideal vantage point from which to get to all the processionals. We love Berta’s meals and her gracious spirit each time we visit. She makes us feel like family. Thank you, Jane and Robert, for a week of fun and fellowship with you. Perfecto! You still have the nicest and most comfortable casa in San Miguel.
— Tom & Mary F. Charleston , SC April 2014
This was our first visit to San Miguel and we couldn’t have picked a better place. Casa Carolina is the best! There are not enough words to describe how we feel about Berta. She completes this house. There is no one on earth that could have taken better care of us. She is awesome!! We fell in love with San Miguel and have begun the process of looking for houses. Ten days is just not enough. We will be back. Thank you so much for opening your house to us.
— Don & Rick Boynton Beach, FL July 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Carolina del Sur. The house is lovely and so comfortable. We loved hanging out on all the terraces. Berta’s cooking is delicious and she is such a sweet person. Only wish we could stay longer. Hopefully next time …
— Shelby & Benjamin Dallas, TX June 2013
We had a wonderful time and your house is beautiful. We especially recommend the pyramid tour with Albert Coffee and horseback riding with Rodrigo. Thanks for the tip. Berta’s cooking was wonderful. Hope to come again.
— Barbara F & 5 amigos Nov 2013
Hola! My stay at Casa Carolina has been wonderful. I think the house is charming and love the artwork you’ve found that fits just right! Loved the queen bedroom too! But, best of all was Berta! She somehow manages to communicate with my piquito Spanish and her piquito English. She made our stay very comfortable – everything neat, clean and welcoming. Will definitely recommend your house. The only small issue was the construction happening next to the house. Gracias!
— Janet F. Oct 2013
What a beautiful home - and kept so well by Berta. She is a treasure – so willing to please and insure that her guests are comfortable. Thank you very much for the hospitality.
— Steve & Kate Norfolk, VA Feb 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us. We will be sad to leave San Miguel. The house was perfect. We were very comfortable. We will miss the early morning coffee time on the upstairs terrace and miss breakfast each morning by the fountain with Berta. Berta was exemplary. She was punctual, cooked divine and took care of our laundry. She is a gem. We loved her.

We hope to be able to come again to San Miguel and would love to stay here at your home. Thank You!
— Chris and Virginia Louisiana November 2012
I am so fortunate to have traveled with Shelby and Benjamin to Casa Carolina. One of my favorite places in San Miguel is this house. Berta’s smile makes every day better. She is so generous and caring. I wish I could take that feeling back to Texas with me. Thanks for the fabulous stay . . . and to fellow travelers, look out for the mountain biking. It’s strenuous!
— Amanda L. Lewisville, TX June 2013
This is my second time in Casa Carolina and I want to thank my friend for inviting Terri and me, and especially Berta who treated us as royalty. She taught us to cook and tended to our every need.
— Maddy Boston, MA Feb 2013
Thank you for a wonderful stay.. Your home is so beautiful and comfortable. The kids and I loved spending time with Berta’s sweet family. She is a true gift. We look forwarding to seeing you in San Miguel. Thanks again for sharing your treasure!

Blessings!
— Allison G. Ladera Ranch, CA July 2012
This is my third visit to San Miguel. I love coming here but this time I came as a “dental tourist.” Staying here at Casa Carolina turned this trip into a true vacation. Everything was wonderful …and last, but not least, Berta! What a treasure!
— Tanne T. Brevard, NC May 2012
Even though I’ve been to SMA, it’s magic is not lost on me. Having the privilege of returning to the same house, Carolina del Sur, is both delightful and reassuring. Berta is here to welcome us and to make sure that our stay goes smoothly. I’ve tried to replicate a few of the dishes to no avail, so now I just let them be part of the special offerings of Berta. Despite the anti-Mexico media in the US, any friends who join us here are immediately at ease and are enchanted by the exhibitions of normal Mexican family life in the jardin. The kindness shown to me by all Mexicans as I wander into new neighborhoods, sample street food, or learn more of SMA/Mexican history keep me coming back for more.

Learn a bit of Spanish, smile at the beautiful children and you will never feel closer to our neighbors to the south! Of course, I’ll be back next year!
— Claire Pittsburgh Feb 2012
I couldn’t have imagined a better way to spend my last two weeks of summer. I enjoyed my trip so much. San Miguel is so much fun. My favorite activities were horseback riding, shopping, taking the girls from the orphanage to the park and enjoying the sights of the city. San Miguel was such a wonderful place to make new friends. I will always remember the unique people I met. Last, but not least, I love Berta and her family. I will be craving some of Berta’s quesadillas all the way home. I hope to make many more memories here!
— Virginia M. Orangeburg, SC August 2012
We love San Miguel and it was a pleasure to stay at Casa Carolina del Sur – beautiful house, great location and fabulous service! Berta is a great cook and a very fine person.
— John, Kristi, Matt and Josh July 2012
We had such a wonderful time this week in San Miguel. Everything we experienced far exceeded our expectations. The house, town, culture, arts, music and the people of this area who all are so friendly. There is nothing more we could have asked for! Oh, and Berta! Berta is so wonderful/charming/ accommodating and the most wonderful cook! I will miss her smiling face more than you will ever know. Thanks so much for this absolutely wonderful week in San Miguel.
— Evelyn & Steve Orangeburg, SC April 2012
What a fabulous vacation! Thank you both for your wonderful hospitality. Casa Carolina del Sur is the perfect location - ideal for all that makes San Miguel interesting and fun. The restaurants were fantastic, the music romantic, and range of activities so varied and representative of the culture. We especially enjoyed walking all over town and always felt safe. The design of the house is comfortable, beautiful, filled with cool artifacts – the 3 master suite design lends itself to couples that know each other or not. The atrium and patio are so calming with the variety of flowers, from bougainvillea to irises and succulents. The Carolina crescent moon with Palmetto palm water feature is creative and calming. We enjoyed all of the food that Berta prepared. We were especially pleased with the creativity and variety. Although we thoroughly enjoyed all of the restaurants, nothing could beat Berta! What a fabulous trip. Thanks for all the tips and advice.
— Caroline and Robert South Carolina Sept 2012
Our first visit to San Miguel was wonderful and Casa Carolina del Sur was a delightful base for our exploration.
— Susan & family New Mexico Jan 2012
We have enjoyed our stay in Casa Carolina del Sur very much. Berta was very helpful, thoughtful and cheery and made us feel completely at home. The weather cooperated and we took advantage of the wonderful location to explore almost all of centro. We found some good paintings at the gallery at Jesus 19 and sent a couple home. It has been a very relaxing and interesting three weeks. As we prepare to leave, we are wondering when we might be able to return. Thank you very much for this opportunity.
— Ursula and Hans Zurich, Switzerland Dec 2011
San Miguel and Casa Carolina de Sur were the perfect combination for a great vacation! As first timers to this city, we were amazed at the sights and sounds ..the parades, the fireworks, the markets. A special treat was our day trip to Walmart and Commonfort (haha). I certainly hope that no ones misses the Tuesday market. We loved the park, the churros, the restaurants and the views. Of course, the most special thing of all is Berta! Her food was delicious and made us feel right at home.
— Merry & Ken Peachtree City, GA Sept 2011
Our family had a wonderful visit in San Miguel. Your home is so charming – cozy and comfortable! Berta was amazing. She has a smile on her face and a twinkle in her eye all the time. She is ready to help with anything and everything. We’d love to take her home with us.
— Joe & Debbie G. July 2011
We had a wonderful time in San Miguel this year. The accommodations, service, weather and friendships were excellent. I was able to catch up on some rest and Ronda was able to tirelessly explore every nook and cranny of this city. We appreciated Berta’s cooking and we shall try our many of her recipes at home. With fond appreciation!
— Tim & Ronda W. Cottage Grove, OR January 2011
What a wonderful rooftop! It served as my office during my stay at Casa Carolina del Sur. Berta made terrific tamales (ask for the pollo with a salsa verde). The internet, phone and TV were nice to have since I had to work, but once the sun went down, the patios and margaritas made Casa Carolina del Sur a peaceful place.
— Nancy & Jo N. Dallas, TX March 2010

Saying “hello” to the house is much easier than saying “goodbye.” For our fifth spring in San Miguel, Casa Carolina del Sur sends us away with especially fold memories and wishes for many returns. We greatly enjoyed our month in this house. We feel special gratitude for Berta’s warm hospitality.
— Ann & Chester S. Chautaugua, NY Blake H. Washington, DC March 2010
Nos encantó la Casa Carolina del Sur! La casa está hermosa – estuvimos muy comodos. Berta fue muy atenta. Nos preparó unos desayunos deliciosos y nos dio buenos consejos de que hacer u no hacer. Gracias por todo!

Thank you H1N1 Swine Flu for emptying out the restaurants so we never had to wait! Berta’s cooking was delicious – breakfast was my favorite meal in San Miguel.
— Ade y Michael July 2009 Asheville, NC

Have you stayed at Casa Carolina Del Sur? Write us a review on TripAdvisor!